Assault & battery are two similar but different crimes of violence. The penalties for assault & battery depend on the level of the assault or battery. In order to determine the difference between the two, you should have a general knowledge of what defines assault and battery.
In Las Vegas, criminal defense lawyers define assault as a threat to harm, but no physical contact or violence against the victim. Assault charges are typically based on the defendant inflicting the fear of imminent harm to the victim. In contrast to assault, battery is much more serious due to the intentional use of force to harm another person. Battery charges are based on the violence and harm inflicted on the victim by the defendant. There are three levels to assault & battery:
Penalties for assault & battery depend upon the severity of the offense and whether a weapon was used during the encounter. The severity of each offense is listed above with simple being the less severe and felony being the most severe. As our Las Vegas criminal defense lawyer can attest, the use of a weapon in an assault & battery case in Nevada will yield stricter, harsher penalties, a longer prison sentence, and a much larger fine. Below, you’ll find a brief outline of the penalties for assault & battery. If you’ve been charged with assault or battery, contact our Las Vegas Criminal Defense lawyer today for help with your case.
Penalties for Assault in Nevada
- Assault without a weapon is considered a misdemeanor and may result in a $1000.00 fine and/or six months in jail.
- Assault with a weapon is considered a felony and may result in a prison sentence of 1-6 years and/or a $5000.00 fine.
Penalties for Battery in Nevada
- Battery without a weapon and no considerable harm done to the victim may result in a prison sentence of 6 months and/or a $1000.00 fine.
- Battery without a weapon but with considerable harm done to the victim may result in a prison sentence of up to five years and/or a $10,000.00 fine.
- Battery with a weapon and no substantial harm to the victim may result in a prison sentence of up to ten years and/or a $10,000.00 fine.
- Battery with a weapon and considerable harm to the victim may result in a prison sentence of up to fifteen years and/or a $10,000.00 fine.
If you’ve been charged with assault or battery in Nevada, it’s important that you act quickly and consult with a Las Vegas Criminal Defense Lawyer on your case in order to get the best outcome possible. At the Drummond Firm, our attorneys are licensed to practice law in all Nevada State and Federal courts. We have the trial and negotiation experience you need to successfully defend you and your interests. Our fees are fair and reasonable and we accept credit cards and payment plans. Don’t wait until it’s too late! Call today to schedule a one-on-one with our Las Vegas Criminal defense attorney.